Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Free Webinar on Virtual Presentations For Genealogy Societies

Posted by Jan Meisels Allen

One of the suggestions I made at the (2010) IAJGS International Conference on Jewish Genealogy Management Workshop on Affordable, Creative Programming was the use of webinars to bring speakers to your genealogy society at no or little cost. Its a great tool, especially for smaller JGSs to be able to bring in speakers without travel costs as attendees can be in different locations as well as the speaker.

Thomas MacEntee, who was the IAJGS speaker at the conference's Management Seminar has announced that Legacy Family Tree is offering a FREE webinar on the RootsTech Session on Virtual Presentations Roundtable. The RootsTech is a conference being held in Salt Lake City in February. The RootsTech session Virtual Presentations Roundtable will be broadcast as a free webinar on Saturday, February 12, 2011 at 1:45 pm MST (3:45PM EST, 2:45PM CST, 12:45PM PST, 8:45PM GMT). To register, please click here.

For genealogy societies this is a great opportunity to try a webinar-- so you can learn more about virtual presentations if you are you unable to attend RootsTech "A New Family History and Technology Conference"(http://rootstech.familysearch.org/). This is a way you can not only participate in a free webinar about virtual presentations, but also attend RootsTech virtually!

Learn Virtual Presentation Concepts

What better way to learn about virtual presentations than using the actual technology behind this new way of delivering your genealogy lectures? This session will be a panel overview and discussion of virtual presentation platforms, methodologies and how genealogy speakers and genealogical societies can leverage this method of delivering content to expand their offerings to the genealogical community.

With the wider availability of high-speed Internet as well as better and more affordable web conferencing software, many genealogy speakers as well as genealogical societies are looking to virtual presentations for delivery of lectures and workshops.

Panelists

The panelists for this exciting event include well-known genealogy speakers
and members of GSG:
  • Thomas MacEntee (moderator) - creator of GeneaBloggers and founder of High-Definition Genealogy.
  • Lisa Louise Cooke - creator of the Genealogy Gems Podcast.
  • Marian Pierre-Louis - founder of Fieldstone Historic Research and co-chair of the Virtual Presentations Committee, Genealogical Speakers Guild.
  • Geoff Rasmussen - of Legacy Family Tree, host of Legacy Family Tree webinars.
  • Pat Richley-Erickson - creator of the DearMYRTLE website.
  • Allison Stacey - Editor at Family Tree Magazine.
  • Maureen Taylor - better known in genealogy circles as "The Photo Detective."
Who Should Attend?
  • Genealogy speakers and educators looking to include virtual presentations methods in their speaking portfolio.
  • Genealogical society decision-makers responsible for providing events and education as well as hiring genealogy speakers.

1 comment:

  1. Thanks Jan for the mention! I also want to point out that while the live presentation does take place on Shabbat for some participants (depending on the time zone), Legacy Family Tree has ensured me that the webinar will be recorded and made available for 30 days on the Legacy Family Tree website.

    ReplyDelete

Comments are welcome. Please post responsibly.