Posted by: Jan Meisels Allen
Earlier this year I reported on California AB 1053 that was signed into law by Governor Brown on October 2, 2011. This new law, Chapter 402 of the laws of 2011, among other things, raises by $2.00 the cost of birth and death records. This increase takes place at the California Department of Heath (CADH) and also at the county level. The fees at various county
clerk and recorder's offices vary and do not necessarily have the same fee structure as the CADH. The $2.00 fee increase is effective January 1, 2012. The legislation also provides for two additional $2.00 increases to take place January 1, 2013 and January 1, 2014.
to read the law go to: http://tinyurl.com/7pblbys
Jan Meisels Allen
IAJGS Vice President
Chairperson, IAJGS Public Records Access Monitoring Committee